Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:10 a.m. - 2004-10-19
Cat scratch fever
I have a new cat, and her name is Emma. We acquired her by accident of course. About 3 months ago I came down stairs in the morning and there was this cat sitting on the deck chair. I was to be on the phone with a friend of mine and told her there was a cat sitting on my deck chair and I would call her back. I thought as soon as I opened the door she was going to go running but she stayed and she looked at me and gave me this big meow/cry. I felt so bad for her. She was so thin so I thought she was a stray. I gave her some food because I already have 3 cats and I was her best friend.
I called my friend back who happens to live close by and told her what this cat looks like. She told me it belonged to one of our other neighbors. I called their house and left a message. He called back and told me he would come pick her up. When he showed up he said he thought it was R but it was M. What kind of moron names their cats just a letter of the alphabet? Well, he took her but the next day she was back. Now by then I had taken in the food and water bowls. I called him again and said she was back. He told me not to feed her and she would leave. Well, 3 days later she didn't leave and she was living off of mice and stuff. So I picked her up and took her back to her house not once but twice. So I decided to find out more about this cat. I called them again and the wife told me that she is a Manx and she did not have any shots and she was not spayed. She then told me she got $250.00 for another cat that was from the same litter. I was not going to pay that much for a cat and told her she needed to do something about her because she was clawing my new deck furniture. She said she was sorry and she knew of a farm that maybe wanted her. Of course that didn't happen. She gave me some line that she had given these people another cat and they were upset with her because she was pregnant. I told her she needs to get her cats fixed so we wouldn't have this problem in the future. She told me she had 9 or 10 cats and it's expensive to do that. I told her that was too bad and if she didn't take care of her problem then I was going to call the Humane Society on her. I told her the cat could stay here but if I found someone to take her then we are even. Then she told me some bullshit story of how she was going to get them done soon and M was in that group. That was 2 months ago.
So a friend of ours came over and looked at her and wanted her for his new place when he moves in. That won't be for a little while, but we agreed. My husband was so mean to her. He would not pet or play with her until last Wed. I found 2 ticks and some fleas on her and I asked him to help me pull the ticks off and he agreed. He didn't realize how bad she was. So I told him with the weather getting colder and the condition she was in that I was taking her to the vet and getting her shots and I was spaying her and bringing her in the house. I also renamed her to Emma. Our friend said that he will pay for the shots and spay because it will be his cat at some point. I told him it was no problem to take care of it and keep her here for a while. The vet told me to keep her away from the other cats for a little while so we have her set up in a huge room and she is adjusting nicely. She loves to be indoors and I don't mind having her because she is so sweet.
She was spayed today and was a little bit wobbly, but I left her alone to sleep for a little while and she is a lot better then she was. I just hope when the time comes I will be able to give her to our friend because she really is sweet and lovey.
It just pisses me off that people like that have pets, when it's so apparent that they don't care about their animals. There is already a cat population problem, we don't need anymore. I hate irresponsible pet owners. I guess I just hate some people in general.


Me @;o)

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!