Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

4:28 p.m. - 2003-09-22
Isabel-weekend in darkness!!
I made it!! Isabel was a bitch but my husband and my fuckers (cats) all got through it. Thursday when we got home from work we filled up the bathtubs and did all the last minute things before we lost power. As my husband was filling up the last bathtub the power went out. It was 4:00pm and we just sat and waited for Isabel to come through. Man I have never seen winds that strong, and I have been through a couple of hurricanes being from Massachusetts and all. The tops of trees were bending down so low that you could almost touch them. It was crazy!!

Our friend Bxx came over before it really started and we played a card game called Grass. It�s funny, you are a drug dealer and you have to make the most money to win. Of course it�s more in detail but I won�t get into that. Then we played poker, 5-card stud, 5-card draw, 7 cards, Blackjack & anything else we could think of. I noticed though when you don�t have any lights and you are just using a lantern to see you totally lose all concept of time. The whole weekend I had no idea what time it was.

We finally went to bed and we woke up to see the devastation Isabel left behind. I am thanking someone up there because our house was spared. Our power was not so lucky and we lost some stuff in the refrigerator and freezer, which is replaceable, but I did not realize the magnitude of it all until Saturday afternoon when I went to go to a Creative Memories thingy. Our driveway looked like a war zone there were trees down and leaning and snapped in half and bent and oh my god it was insane. The power access, which is behind our house also looked pretty bad. A dozen or more trees were leaning on the power lines so I knew we were in for some dark times. For 3 days and 4 hours we were without power and I feel lucky compared to some of the people out there who have no idea when they will get power. Then there are those who lost their living arrangements totally. How sad. I was able to take a shower this morning and I was happy. Thank you Rappahannock Electric.

I love scrap booking. Creative Memories is very expensive but I will tell you that it�s worth it because the finished product is really nice. So I am trying to finish up putting all of our house construction pictures in this album. I want to work on it tonight but we have to go to some friend�s house after work, whoopee. I hate when I have planed something in my mind of what I want to do when I get home and then my husband has booked us without going over it with me, but when I do it, it�s a mortal sin. Well I am leaving to go home for the day.

Me**

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!